arrow_leftBack to the catalogue

Ipso Lotto


1st part of Lostery 2 (2nd part of Lostery, a triptych of sound and visual installations and of works for contrabass clarinet and electronics).
A multimedia work.
3rd part of in ipso tempore (a series of electroacoustic works).

Duration: 8'05.
Instrumentation: electronics.
Date of composition: January 2017.

BERLIN SENAT COMPOSITION GRANT 2015 (DE).
MUSICA NOVA 2018 - Finalist (Prague, CZ).

Commission: ECLAT  FESTIVAL.
Residency: ELECTRONIC STUDIO of the TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT (Berlin, DE).
World premiere: ECLAT festival (Stuttgart, DE), 03/02/2017.

Other concert: Les in:entendues festival, Neuvy-le-Roi (FR), August 2021. New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival (US), 16/07/2018.

Technical rider (pdf)

 

Portfolio of the visual installation
(pdf)

2017

Ipso Lotto, a piece by Clara Maïda
 

[ Visual installation: projected image ]

Programme note

Ipso Lotto for electronics lies at the intersection of two series of pieces, Lostery and in ipso tempore.
If the piece is played as part of the series Lostery, it can be presented in three different ways: whether separately played in a concert; or considered as the sound part of a visual installation and played on a loop in the place in which the installation is shown; or else associated to the piece Later gambler for contrabass clarinet and electronics.
If the piece is played in the context of the series in ipso tempore, it is played in a concert and can follow the piece Ipso facto for electronics.

Lostery 2 has been premiered in its double form: a sound and visual installation and a concert. The works Ipso Lotto and Later gambler have been successively played in the place in which the visual installation was exhibited.

The title Lostery condenses the words "lost" and "Lottery". Thus it expresses a rather pessimistic state of mind in which what has been brought into play leads most of the time to failure. It accounts for the economic and social crisis that we have been experiencing over several years and for the increasing inequality between people.

Lostery questions two structural parameters which have a significant impact on our lives - on the one hand, the gearwheels of the societal machine in which we are immersed and which mostly conditions our destinies, and on the other hand, the notion of chance which plays a part in the path that we will or will not be able to follow. It divides individuals on the side of the more or less lucky or unlucky according to the socio-political and economic system of the country in which they were born (more or less favoured and equalitarian), their life in a country at peace or at war, the socio-cultural level of the family they have been brought up in, the possibility to study or not, the greater or lesser freedom of choice given to them, etc.

From the Latin locution "ipso facto", which means "by the very fact", "therefore, automatically", I coined the title, Ipso Lotto, which might mean "by the very lot", by what one can get (or not).
The piece uses the sound recording of the machines present in game rooms or casinos (slot machines, balls rebounding on a roulette, banknote counter, chips shaken in a cup, sound of the jackpot, etc.). Ipso Lotto recreates the atmosphere of these places in which to win money is the only important, sometimes even obsessional fact. The different sound morphologies evoke the mechanical dimension of the machines as well as that of the players who keep repeating the same gestures. The splinters, the jolts, the rolls, the rebounds or ricochets, the falling movements, recur in a circular space which recalls the structure of the roulette in a casino. A more abstract and structural dimension evokes the potential and endlessly recomposed multiplicity of the combinations of chance. Kaleidoscopic sound objects materialize this redistribution of chances each time the dice are thrown on a table or the chips on a roulette, for instance.

The musical work is played in a space that includes visual elements and objects related to the games of chance. A huge abstract animated machinery projected onto a screen gives a visual counterpoint to the sound mechanics of the piece. Its interlocked graphical motifs evoke the complex gearwheels of a world beyond any control. This kind of entangled web gives the feeling that the individuals are trapped in an obscure mechanism which completely randomly casts the dice. Its black and white graphics recalls that the game is binary. We win ("jackpot") or we lose ("jack shit", "nothing" in slang). It is double or quits, all or nothing. Real objects (five Bingo machines) are placed before black stands on which built objects (spheres of various sizes, small cubes) present the same abstract black and white graphics as that of the machinery and create a connection between the objects related to the games (Lotto balls, dice) and the projected image. They seem to be debris rejected by a system with an inflexible mechanics.

What is chance? Are we born on the right or the wrong side? How far can we really decide on our life? The accumulation of the sound and visual connections in Lostery induces the perception of a kinetic, bruitist and machinic whole. Which place is it possible to find in such a system or, inversely, how is it possible to step aside and to get out of it?

Clara Maïda, December 2016

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit. Quo cumque, corrupti perspiciatis cum! Tempore hic, voluptas suscipit non distinctio provident accusamus, nemo voluptatibus consequatur labore, porro atque nisi minima tempora commodi, quidem. Et rem a id aut odit atque dolor cumque maxime voluptatibus perspiciatis distinctio repellat molestiae deserunt, consectetur iusto iure nemo cum in, esse sequi enim! Animi perferendis laudantium quis vel fuga, provident perspiciatis ex veritatis odit nemo aspernatur error eos. Facilis excepturi, atque nemo recusandae sint, unde ducimus dolorum quas perferendis fugit vel corporis ipsam laudantium nobis. Aut itaque sint tempore laudantium, sapiente vel, id pariatur, quibusdam error aspernatur odio rerum molestias distinctio soluta mollitia? Autem ipsa cupiditate quo laboriosam molestiae. Quo temporibus aut blanditiis necessitatibus alias unde laborum soluta commodi itaque, neque numquam at cumque cupiditate perspiciatis quidem debitis sit repellendus pariatur eius inventore velit? Laboriosam voluptatum esse fuga molestiae vitae sequi eos earum debitis, in, neque.

Ipso Lotto/Lostery 2, a drawing by Clara Maïda

Lostery 2 - Visual installation - Drawing for the projection
ECLAT festival (Stuttgart, DE) - February 3, 2017

Retour haut de page

arrow_leftRetour au catalogue

Ipso Lotto


1ère partie de Lostery 2 (2ème volet de Lostery, triptyque d'installations sonores et visuelles et d'oeuvres pour clarinette contrebasse solo et électronique).
Oeuvre multimédia.
3ème volet d'in ipso tempore (cycle d'oeuvres électroacoustiques).

Durée : 8'05.
Effectif instrumental : électronique (6 canaux).
Date de composition : janvier 2017.

BOURSE DE COMPOSITION 2015 DU BERLIN SENAT (DE).
MUSICA NOVA 2018 - Finaliste (Prague, CZE).

Commande : FESTIVAL ECLAT.
Résidence : STUDIO ÉLECTRONIQUE de la TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT (Berlin, DE).
Création mondiale : festival ECLAT (Stuttgart, DE), 03/02/2017.

Autres concerts : Festival Les in:entendues, Neuvy-le-Roi, août 2021. New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival (US), 16/07/2018.

Fiche technique (pdf)
Photos de l'installation visuelle

 

Portfolio de l'installation visuelle
(pdf)

2017

Lostery 2, dessin de Clara Maïda
 

[ Installation visuelle : image pour projection ]

Notice de programme

Ipso Lotto pour électronique est  au carrefour de deux cycles de pièces, Lostery et in ipso tempore.
Si la pièce est jouée dans le cadre du cycle Lostery, elle peut être présentée de trois façons différentes : soit jouée séparément pendant un concert ; soit considérée comme la partie sonore d’une installation visuelle et jouée en boucle dans le lieu où l’installation est présentée ; soit encore associée à la pièce Later gambler pour clarinette contrebasse et électronique. Si la pièce est jouée dans le cadre du cycle in ipso tempore, elle est jouée en concert et peut suivre la pièce Ipso facto pour électronique.

Lostery 2 a été créée dans sa double forme : une installation sonore et visuelle, et un concert. Les œuvres Ipso Lotto et Later gambler ont été jouées successivement dans le lieu où l’installation visuelle était exposée. 

Le titre Lostery condense les mots anglais « lost » (« perdu ») et « Lottery » (« loterie »), exprimant ainsi un état d’esprit pessimiste selon lequel ce qui a été mis en jeu débouche le plus souvent sur un résultat perdant. Il rend compte de la crise économique et sociale que nous traversons depuis déjà plusieurs années et de l’inégalité croissante entre les individus.

Lostery interroge deux paramètres structurels qui ont une influence significative sur nos vies - d’une part, les rouages de la machine sociétale dans laquelle nous sommes immergés et qui conditionne nos destinées pour une bonne part, et d’autre part, la notion de hasard. Celui-ci distribue les individus du côté des plus ou moins chanceux ou malchanceux selon le système socio-politique et économique du pays dans lequel ils sont nés (plus ou moins favorisé et égalitaire), leur vie dans un pays en paix ou en guerre, le niveau socio-culturel de la famille dans laquelle ils sont élevés, la possibilité d’étudier ou pas, la plus ou moins grande liberté de choix qui leur est accordée, etc.

À partir de l’expression latine « ipso facto », qui signifie « par le fait même », « par voie de conséquence, automatiquement »,  j’ai imaginé le terme Ipso Lotto, qui pourrait signifier « par le lot même », par ce que l’on peut obtenir (ou pas).

La pièce utilise l’enregistrement sonore des machines présentes dans les salles de jeux ou les casinos (machines à sous, boules rebondissant sur une roulette, compteuse de billets, jetons secoués dans un gobelet, bruit du jackpot, etc.), Ipso Lotto tente de simuler l’atmosphère de ces lieux dans lesquels gagner de l’argent est le seul fait important, souvent même obsessionnel. Les différentes morphologies sonores évoquent la dimension mécanique des machines ainsi que celle des joueurs qui ne cessent de répéter les mêmes gestes. Les éclats, les secousses, les rebonds ou les ricochets, les mouvements de chute, font retour dans un espace circulaire qui rappelle la structure de la roulette dans un casino. Une dimension plus abstraite et structurale évoque la multiplicité potentielle et sans cesse recomposée des combinaisons du hasard. Des objets sonores kaléidoscopiques matérialisent cette redistribution des chances chaque fois que les dés sont jetés sur une table ou que les jetons sont placés sur une roulette, par exemple. 

L’œuvre musicale est jouée dans un espace qui comporte des éléments visuels et des objets se référant aux jeux de hasard. Une immense machinerie abstraite projetée sur un écran offre un contrepoint visuel à la mécanique sonore de la pièce. Ses motifs graphiques emboîtés les uns dans les autres évoquent les rouages complexes d’un monde dont le contrôle nous échappe et donnent la sensation que les individus sont capturés dans un mécanisme obscur qui distribue les dés de façon totalement aléatoire. Son graphisme noir et blanc nous rappelle que le jeu est de nature binaire. On gagne (« jackpot ») ou on perd (« jack shit », que dalle, en argot anglais). C’est quitte ou double, tout ou rien. Cinq mini-sphères de loto sont disposées devant un support noir sur lequel des objets fabriqués (sphères de tailles diverses, petits cubes) comportent le même type de graphisme abstrait noir et blanc que celui de la machinerie, créant ainsi une connexion entre les objets se référant au jeu (boules de loto, dés à jouer) et l’image projetée. Ils semblent être les débris rejetés par un système à la mécanique inflexible.

Qu’est-ce que la chance ? Naît-on du bon ou du mauvais côté ? Dans quelle mesure peut-on véritablement décider de sa vie ? L’accumulation des connexions sonores et visuelles de Lostery induit la perception d’un tout cinétique, bruitiste, et machinique. Quelle place est-il possible de trouver dans un tel système ou au contraire, comment est-il possible de faire un pas de côté et de s’en extirper ?

Clara Maïda, décembre 2016

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit. Quo cumque, corrupti perspiciatis cum! Tempore hic, voluptas suscipit non distinctio provident accusamus, nemo voluptatibus consequatur labore, porro atque nisi minima tempora commodi, quidem. Et rem a id aut odit atque dolor cumque maxime voluptatibus perspiciatis distinctio repellat molestiae deserunt, consectetur iusto iure nemo cum in, esse sequi enim! Animi perferendis laudantium quis vel fuga, provident perspiciatis ex veritatis odit nemo aspernatur error eos. Facilis excepturi, atque nemo recusandae sint, unde ducimus dolorum quas perferendis fugit vel corporis ipsam laudantium nobis. Aut itaque sint tempore laudantium, sapiente vel, id pariatur, quibusdam error aspernatur odio rerum molestias distinctio soluta mollitia? Autem ipsa cupiditate quo laboriosam molestiae. Quo temporibus aut blanditiis necessitatibus alias unde laborum soluta commodi itaque, neque numquam at cumque cupiditate perspiciatis quidem debitis sit repellendus pariatur eius inventore velit? Laboriosam voluptatum esse fuga molestiae vitae sequi eos earum debitis, in, neque.

Lostery 2 - Installation visuelle - Dessin pour projection
Festival ECLAT (Stuttgart, DE) - 3 février 2017

Retour haut de page