arrow_leftBack to the catalogue

…, das spinnt…


2nd part of www, a series for string quartet.

Duration: 9'50.
Instrumentation: amplified string quartet.
Date of composition: October 2013.

Commission:  French MINISTRY OF CULTURE AND COMMUNICATION  and ARDITTI QUARTET.
World premiere: ARDITTI QUARTET. Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (UK), on November 15, 2013.

Other concert: ARDITTI QUARTET, Philharmonie de Paris/Cité de la Musique (FR), Biennale des quatuors à cordes, on January 14, 2020.

Programme note of the series www (pdf)

 

Excerpt from score
(pdf)

2013

Partition ..., das spinnt... par Clara Maïda

 

[ ampl str qt ]

Programme note

…, das spinnt… is the second piece of the series www, these three letters indicating, as everyone knows, the access to the Internet, the initials of the World Wide Web.

As in the first piece of the series, …who holds the strings…, the title alludes to a network of threads.
The German word "spinnen" refers to the spinning action (to spin the cobweb, for the spider).

…, das spinnt… is an incomplete sentence, with no grammatical subject, which can be translated as "…which weaves…" or as "…which spins a web…". And the web can also be the Web, i.e. a ramified space with no centralization point.

The title plays on the double meaning of the word "spinnen" which evokes at the same time this weaving of threads and, in a more colloquial use, the reproach addressed to a person who acts in an extravagant way, with a kind of slight madness. "Du spinnst!" corresponds to: "Are you crazy!". Besides, in French, the expression "avoir une araignée au plafond" (literally, to have a spider on the ceiling) also means "to be mad". And the English word "spin", which evokes both a revolving motion and the spider’s work, refers in quantum physics to the intrinsic kinetic momentum of particles.

One can see that a network - a semantic one, this time - goes across different languages. The "spider on the ceiling" converges toward "spinnen" with the idea of madness in the background, to whatever degree of expression or intensity, and towards the spin of particles.

The musical writing works its way between the web (with both meanings of the term), the psychic turbulences and those of matter, or the propagation of sound waves.
As a matter of fact, with this repetition of a same letter in a movement which could last forever, this symbol www visually evokes a waveform and reminds us that any matter, according to the very poetic Theory of Strings developed by modern physics (even though it is still to be verified), might be not made of particles but of invisible strings which vibrate with different frequencies.

In the piece, all these filaments never stop intertwining and following their path, creating an extremely kinetic sound diagram crossed by searing intensities. In this very dense and elastic network, the connections circulate from one instrument to the other.

The trajectories weave an ensemble of traces in all directions, thus creating ever more disordered, ever crazier extensions, proliferations, with numerous junctions and with a complex temporality.

The tangle unravels endlessly, except for a few anchor points that get stuck from time to time on a kind of circular and repetitive mechanical device, in particular the one concluding the piece.

Clara Maïda, November 2013

...das, spinnt... - Score - Page 29

Retour haut de page

arrow_leftRetour au catalogue

…, das spinnt…


2ème partie de www, cycle pour quatuor à cordes.

Durée : 9'50.
Effectif instrumental : quatuor à cordes amplifié.
Date de composition : octobre 2013.

WORLD MUSIC DAYS 2019 - Sélection française (Paris).

Commande :  MINISTÈRE DE LA CULTURE / QUATUOR ARDITTI.
Création mondiale : QUATUOR ARDITTI. Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (GB), 15/11/2013.

Autres concerts : QUATUOR ARDITTI, Soutbank Centre, Londres (GB), 02/04/2022. Philharmonie de Paris/Cité de la Musique, Biennale des quatuors à cordes, 14/01/2020.

Notice du cycle www (pdf)

 

Extrait de partition
(pdf)

2013

Partition ..., das spinnt... par Clara Maïda

 

[ qt à cdes ampl ]

Notice de programme

…, das spinnt… est le deuxième volet du cycle www, ces trois lettres désignant, comme chacun le sait, l’accès au réseau internet, les initiales du World Wide Web, la toile d’araignée mondiale.

Comme dans la première pièce du cycle - …who holds the strings… - le titre fait allusion à un réseau de fils.
Le mot allemand « spinnen » se réfère à l’action de filer (ou de tisser la toile, dans le cas de l’araignée).

…, das spinnt… est une phrase incomplète, sans sujet grammatical, que l’on peut traduire par « …qui file… » ou par « …qui tisse une toile… ». Et la toile peut aussi être la Toile, le Web, c’est-à-dire un espace ramifié sans point de centralisation.

Le titre joue sur la double signification du mot « spinnen » qui évoque à la fois ce tissage de fils et, dans une utilisation plus argotique, le reproche adressé à une personne qui agit de façon un peu folle ou inconsidérée. « Du spinnst ! » correspond à : « Tu es fou ! ». Par ailleurs, en français, l’expression « avoir une araignée au plafond » signifie aussi « être fou ». Et le mot anglais « spin », qui évoque à la fois un tournoiement et le tissage de la toile par l’araignée, désigne en physique quantique le moment cinétique intrinsèque des particules.

On constate donc qu’un réseau - sémantique, cette fois-ci - traverse différentes langues. L’« araignée au plafond » converge vers « spinnen » avec l’idée d’une folie à l’arrière-plan, quel que soit son degré d’expression ou d’intensité, et vers le spin des particules.

L'écriture musicale se fraie donc un chemin entre la toile (dans les deux sens du terme), les turbulences psychiques et celles de la matière, ou la propagation des ondes sonores. En effet, avec cette répétition d’une même lettre dans un mouvement qui pourrait durer infiniment, ce symbole www évoque visuellement une forme d’onde et nous rappelle que toute matière, selon la très poétique théorie des cordes développée par la physique moderne (même si elle reste encore à vérifier), n’est peut-être pas faite de particules mais d’invisibles cordes qui vibrent à des fréquences différentes.

Dans la pièce, tous ces filaments qui ne cessent de s’entrecroiser et de poursuivre leur trajet créent un diagramme sonore extrêmement cinétique et parcouru de fulgurances. Dans ce réseau très dense et élastique, les connexions circulent d’un instrument à l’autre.

Les trajectoires tissent un ensemble de traces dans toutes les directions, créant ainsi des extensions, des proliférations toujours plus désordonnées, toujours plus folles, aux bifurcations nombreuses et à la temporalité complexe.

L’écheveau se défait sans fin, à l’exception de quelques points d’ancrage qui se figent de temps à autre sur une sorte de mécanique circulaire répétitive, notamment celle qui conclut la pièce.

Clara Maïda, novembre 2013

...das, spinnt... - Partition - Page 29

Retour haut de page