arrow_leftBack to the catalogue

X/Y


Duration: 12'02.
Instrumentation: 7 amplified singers, with resonators and additional percussive objects.
Date of composition: July 2011.

Commission: DONAUESCHINGER MUSIKTAGE, Christine FISCHER and Rainer PÖLLMANN.
World premiere: NEUE VOCALSOLISTEN, Donaueschinger Musiktage (DE), on October 16, 2011

Other concert: NEUE VOCALSOLISTEN, Transit festival (Leuven, BE), on October 22, 2011.

 

Excerpt from score
(pdf)

2011

X/Y

Partition X/Y par Clara Maïda
 

[ 7 ampl singers + res and add perc obj ]


Sample

Programme note

The title X/Y evokes X and Y chromosomes which mark out the sexual identity in the human genotype.

The initial material of the piece is developed from a sound conversion of X and Y chromosomes’ data. Sound frequencies are determined from the lengths of various regions of the DNA molecule and constitute therefore a specific "spectrum" for each chromosome the two generator aggregates of the piece are derived from. Besides, the order of succession and the number of repetitions of the chemical bases (a, c, g and t) in the genetic sequence of the chromosomes generate rhythmical series. 

The structure of these two chromosomes and the different steps of meiosis (the sexual cell division) influence the musical form and the stages of instrumentation.
During the very dynamic development of meiosis, masculine and feminine chromosomes move very precisely in the cell. They migrate between the centre, where the recombination of their material takes place, and the periphery.
According to this biological model, the first part of the piece is articulated around two entities - vocal and percussive - which do not stop exchanging their instrumentation. When the central trio is percussive, the peripheral quartet is vocal and vice versa. Thus these two timbres, like chromosomes during meiosis, can be heard travelling between the centre and the periphery. Musical elements also move from one performer to the other, forming diagonals between front and backstage, between left and right.

The stage disposal of the singers is built according to two criteria. On the one hand, this graphically refers to X and Y. Two spaces fit together. Four peripheral points correspond to X and are marked by the two highest feminine voices and the two lowest masculine voices. Three central points forming the Y are drawn by the mezzo-soprano, the countertenor and the tenor with a more concentrated register. On the other hand, the feminine space is located on the left of the stage, the masculine space on its right. In the centre, the countertenor takes the place of a "hermaphrodite" pole, a meeting or merging point of both sexes, where diagonals converge in the X squared space and the Y triangular space. Colours worn by the singers underline the polarization of these still active social patterns, the women being in black (Yin) and the men in white (Yang). The countertenor, in black and white, assembles these oppositions in one single entity. He also indicates that this bipolarity of tradition is not so clear-cut and that the parts are not so stuck, that a complementary of functions lies inside each of us.

The piece questions the identity of man and woman, but also love and desire which, as psychoanalysis has shown it, goes widely beyond the biological field. The imaginary dimension is fundamental. The love quest merges a search for the same and the other. The agitation of the musical situations accounts for the disruption and the emotional fragility into which it throws us. One can find or lose oneself in this game of mirror with multiple diffractions. For x and y are also the unknown factors of mathematical equations. What do we perceive of this other at the same time similar and different? Reality and Imaginary collide inasmuch as the affect is intense. Is it possible to know oneself and the other beyond this distorting veil? This voice of love, emitted or heard, emerges from our innermost, from unexplored psychic zones. That is why it is filtered through various resonators throughout the piece.

Clara Maïda, August 2011

X/Y - Score - Page 32

Retour haut de page

arrow_leftRetour au catalogue

X/Y


Durée : 12'02.
Effectif instrumental : 7 chanteurs amplifiés, avec résonateurs et objets percussifs additionnels.
Date de composition : juillet 2011.

Commande : DONAUESCHINGER MUSIKTAGE, Christine FISCHER et Rainer PÖLLMANN.
Création mondiale : NEUE VOCALSOLISTEN, Donaueschinger Musiktage (DE), 16/10/2011

Autre concert : NEUE VOCALSOLISTEN, festival Transit (Louvain, BE), 22/10/2011.

Photos du concert de création

 

Extrait de partition
(pdf)

2011

X/Y

Partition X/Y par Clara Maïda
 

[ 7 chanteurs ampl + rés et obj perc add ]


Extrait

Notice de programme

Le titre de la pièce évoque les chromosomes X et Y qui marquent l’identité sexuelle dans le génotype humain.

Le matériau harmonique et rythmique de la pièce est élaboré à partir d‘une conversion sonore des données de ces deux chromosomes. Des fréquences sonores sont déterminées à partir des différentes régions de la molécule d’ADN et constituent un « spectre » spécifique pour chaque chromosome dont les deux agrégats générateurs de la pièce sont issus. Par ailleurs, l’ordre de succession et le nombre de répétitions des bases chimiques (a, c, g et t) dans la séquence génétique des chromosomes engendrent des suites rythmiques. 

La structure de ces deux chromosomes ainsi que les différentes phases de la méiose (division cellulaire sexuée) influencent la forme musicale et les phases d’instrumentation.
Pendant le déroulement très dynamique de la méiose, les chromosomes masculins et féminins ont des déplacements très précis dans la cellule. Ils migrent entre le centre, où la recombinaison de leur matériau s’effectue, et la périphérie.
D’après ce modèle biologique, la première partie de la pièce est articulée autour de deux entités - l‘une vocale et l’autre percussive - qui ne cessent d’échanger leur instrumentation. Quand le trio central est percussif, le quatuor périphérique est vocal et inversement. On entend donc ces deux timbres, tels les chromosomes pendant la méiose, parcourir des trajets entre le centre et la périphérie. Des éléments musicaux circulent également d’un interprète à l’autre, formant des diagonales entre l’avant et l’arrière de la scène, entre la gauche et la droite.

La disposition scénique des chanteurs est construite en fonction de deux critères. D’une part, elle se réfère au X et au Y. Deux espaces s’emboîtent. Quatre points périphériques correspondant au X sont marqués par l’emplacement des deux voix féminines les plus aiguës et des deux voix masculines les plus graves. Trois points centraux formant le Y sont dessinés par la mezzo-soprano, le contre-ténor et le ténor avec un registre plus concentré. D’autre part, l’espace féminin est placé sur la gauche de la scène, l’espace masculin sur sa droite. Au centre, le contre-ténor tient lieu de pôle « hermaphrodite », point de rencontre ou de fusion des deux sexes, où convergent des diagonales dans l’espace carré en X et l‘espace triangulaire en Y. Les couleurs portées par les chanteurs soulignent cette polarisation, les femmes étant en noir (Yin) et les hommes en blanc (Yang). Le contre-ténor, en noir et blanc, rassemble ces oppositions en une seule entité. Il indique que cette bipolarité de la tradition n’est pas si limpide et que les rôles ne sont pas figés, qu’une complémentarité des fonctions est en chacun de nous.

La pièce interroge l’identité de l’homme et de la femme, mais aussi l’amour et le désir humain qui, comme l’a montré la psychanalyse, dépasse largement le champ biologique. La dimension imaginaire est fondamentale. La quête amoureuse mêle la recherche du même et de l’autre. L’agitation des situations musicales rend compte du bouleversement et de la fragilité émotionnelle dans lesquels elle nous plonge. On peut se trouver ou se perdre dans ce jeu de miroir aux multiples diffractions. Car x et y sont aussi les inconnues des équations mathématiques. Que perçoit-on de cet autre à la fois semblable et différent ? Réalité et imaginaire se percutent d’autant plus que l’affect est intense. La connaissance de soi et de l’autre est-elle possible au-delà de ce voile de distorsion ? Cette voix de l’amour, émise ou entendue, émerge du plus profond de nous-mêmes, de zones psychiques inexplorées. C’est pourquoi elle est filtrée par divers résonateurs tout au long de la pièce.

Clara Maïda, août 2011

X/Y - Partition - Page 32

Retour haut de page