arrow_leftBack to the catalogue

Ipso facto


2nd part of Psyché-Cité/Transversales, a triptych for ensemble and electronics and 1st part of in ipso tempore, a series for electronics.

Duration: 9'34.
Instrumentation: electronics.
Date of composition: September 2007.

MUSICA NOVA 2008 - Finalist (Prague, CZ).

Commission: BERLINER KÜNSTLERPROGRAMM of the DAAD.
Residency: ELECTRONIC STUDIO of the TECHNISCHE UNIVERSI¨TÄT (Berlin, DE).
World premiere: Fünf + 1 festival (TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT), Kleiner Wasserspeicher of Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin (DE), 21/09/2007.

Other concerts: Heroines of Sound festival (Berlin, DE), 09/12/2016. 3rd International Csound Conference, Teatro Soli (Montevideo, UY), on 24/11/2015. BIFEM (Bendigo-Melbourne, AS), 06/09/2014. Instituut voor Sonologie, The Hague Royal Conservatory (NL), 28/10/2009. Electronic Studio of the Technische Universität (Berlin, DE), 15/10/2009. ElectroVisiones festival (Mexico City, MX), 26/06/2009. EMUFest festival (Rome, IT), 24/11/2008. Música Viva festival (Lisbonne, PT), 23/09/2008.

Technical rider (pdf)

 

Setup of the loudspeakers
(pdf)

2007

Ipso facto, a piece by Clara Maïda
 

Photograph © Clara Maïda

Programme note

Ipso facto is the second section of the series of pieces for instruments and electronics Psyché-Cité/Transversales.

"ipso facto" is a Latin expression meaning "by the very fact", "therefore, automatically". But what occurs automatically in that piece, paradoxically, is the absence of automatism. Therefore, sound events are articulated with one another, following their own logic, carried away in a kind of whirl also containing a few stases.

In the first piece of the series, Fluctuatio (in)animi, the musical discourse was based on a dialectic between the possibility of ramifications, the creation of new paths and the irresistible attraction, at times, to a fixed polarization trapping the sound movements within a mechanical reiteration coming back to the same axis over and over again.

In Ipso facto, there is no longer opposition between elasticity and rigidity. One is inside a space filled with vibrations, circular and fluid, and the venue of the premiere of the piece played a role in the choice of such a space (the water tank - Kleiner Wasserspeicher - of Prenzlauer Berg in Berlin).

I tried to evoke a confined space, cut off from the exterior, empty and made up of galleries (a little like a sewerage system).
The sound movements mimic the way sounds can echo on the walls, whirl around, ricochet from one surface to another, diffract by engendering multidirectional trajectories or, on the contrary, extend, lose their contours, blend together within a place where the reverberation is very important.
The distinction between proximity and distance becomes difficult. Some sounds seem to be very crisp, very precise. Others are fuzzier, as if they appeared behind a veil, or distorted, reminding of the sound perception one has when immersed under water.
Musical gestures recur insistently (sliding, whirling, rebounding), and draw ever more rapid abstract curves and twirls.

Like in the other two pieces of the series, my aim was to elaborate a hybrid sound evoking both an urban space and an organic entity, the world of objects and the living world.
Rubbing, scraping, creaking, groaning, chains dragged along and mechanisms started, all these sounds compose a space which undergoes numerous torsions and about which it cannot be told whether it is inside or outside the body.

Clara Maïda, September 2007

Ipso facto, a piece by Clara Maïda

Photograph of Hauptbahnhof, Berlin (DE) © Clara Maïda, 2007

Retour haut de page

arrow_leftRetour au catalogue

Ipso facto


2ème partie de Psyché-Cité/Transversales, triptyque pour ensemble et électronique et 1ère partie d'in ipso tempore, cycle pour électronique.

Durée : 9'34.
Effectif instrumental : électronique (7 canaux).
Date de composition : septembre 2007.

MUSICA NOVA 2008 - Finaliste (Prague, CZ).

Commande : BERLINER KÜNSTLERPROGRAMM du DAAD.
Résidence : STUDIO ÉLECTRONIQUE de la TECHNISCHE UNIVERSI¨TÄT (Berlin, DE).
Création mondiale : Festival Fünf + 1 (TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT), Kleiner Wasserspeicher de Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin (DE), 21/09/2007.

Autres concerts : festival Heroines of Sound (Berlin, DE), 09/12/2016. 3rd International Csound Conference, Teatro Soli (Montevideo, UY), 24/11/2015. BIFEM (Bendigo-Melbourne, AS), 06/09/2014. Instituut voor Sonologie, Conservatoire Royal de La Haye (NL), 28/10/2009. Studio Électronique de la Technische Universität (Berlin, DE), 15/10/2009. Festival ElectroVisiones (Mexico City, MX), 26/06/2009. Festival EMUFest (Rome, IT), 24/11/2008. Festival Música Viva (Lisbonne, PT), 23/09/2008.

Fiche technique (pdf)

 

Disposition des haut-parleurs
(pdf)

2007

Partition Web-wave par Clara Maïda
 

Photographie © Clara Maïda

Notice de programme

Ipso facto est le deuxième volet du cycle de pièces pour instruments et électronique Psyché-Cité/Transversales.

« ipso facto » est une locution latine qui signifie « par le fait même », « par voie de conséquence, automatiquement ». Mais ce qui advient automatiquement dans cette pièce, paradoxalement, c’est l’absence d’automatisme. Par voie de conséquence, les évènements sonores s’articulent les uns aux autres, suivant leur propre logique, entraînés dans une sorte de tourbillon qui comporte cependant quelques stases.

Dans la première pièce du cycle, Fluctuatio (in)animi, le discours musical était fondé sur une dialectique entre la possibilité de ramifications, la création de nouveaux trajets et l’attraction irrésistible, par moments, vers une polarisation figée emprisonnant les mouvements sonores dans une réitération mécanique et retournant toujours vers le même axe.

Dans Ipso facto, il n’y a plus d’opposition entre élasticité et rigidité. On est dans un espace agité de vibrations, circulaire et fluide, et le lieu de création de la pièce a joué un rôle dans le choix d’un tel espace (le réservoir d’eau - Kleiner Wasserspeicher - de Prenzlauer Berg à Berlin).

J'ai cherché à évoquer un espace clos, coupé du monde extérieur, vide et constitué de galeries (un peu comme celui des égouts).
Les mouvements sonores miment la façon dont les sons peuvent se répercuter sur les parois, tournoyer, ricocher d’une surface à une autre, se diffracter en engendrant des trajectoires multi-directionnelles ou, au contraire, se distendre, perdre leurs contours, fusionner dans un lieu où la réverbération est très importante.
Le discernement entre proximité et distance devient difficile. Certains sons semblent très dessinés, très précis, d’autres sont plus flous, comme distordus par un voile, ou déformés, rappelant la perception auditive altérée que l’on peut avoir quand on est immergé dans l’eau.
Des gestes musicaux reviennent de façon insistante (le glissement, le tournoiement, le rebond), et tracent des courbes et des volutes abstraites  toujours plus rapides.

Comme dans les deux autres pièces du cycle, mon objectif était d’élaborer un son hybride évoquant à la fois un espace urbain et une entité organique, le monde des objets et le monde vivant.
Frottements, raclements, craquements, bruits de chaînes traînées ou mises en mouvement, rebonds d’objets métalliques, râles, tous ces sons composent un espace qui subit de nombreuses torsions et dont on ne peut identifier s’il se réfère à l’extérieur ou à l’intérieur du corps.

Clara Maïda, septembre 2007

Photographie de Hauptbahnhof, Berlin (DE) © Clara Maïda, 2007

Retour haut de page