arrow_leftBack to the catalogue

Gitter für Gitarre


Duration 13'31.
Instrumentation: solo amplified guitar.
Date of composition: October 2009.

Commission: PARIS INTERNATIONAL GUITAR FESTIVAL.
World premiere: Caroline DELUME. Paris International Guitar Festival on November27, 2009.

Other concert: Caroline DELUME, Festival International de Guitarra ex Corde (Guadalajara, ES), on July 15, 2015. Jay SORCE, Spectrum (NYC, US), on September 22, 2012. Seth JOSEL (WORK IN PROGRESS - BERLIN ensemble), (DE), Alpha Nova Gallery (Berlin, DE), on May 26, 2010. Musikakademie Rheinberg (DE), on May 21, 2010.

 

Excerpt from score
(pdf)

2009

Partition Gitter fûr Gitarre par Clara Maïda

 

[ solo ampl gtr ]


Extrait

Programme note

Gitter für Gitarre was composed while the writing of Shel(l)ter, a series of four pieces for ensemble and  electronics, was in progress. This series was referring to one of the atomic shelters in Berlin.
I have therefore used the same musical material and the same kind of formal structure as in the second part of the series, Shel(l)ter - unter . . . ( ) . . . Gitter.

The German word "Gitter" ("a metal gate", "grille" in French) calls to mind the enclosed atmosphere, the imprisonment that one can feel in such a place, locked up, opaque and isolated from the outside world. What was originally designed to be a shelter becomes also a prison. Any movement in space runs into walls and in a way, becomes framed, "criss-crossed" within the four impassable walls which mark out the surface of the bunker.
Moreover, the French word "grille" both designates a metal gate and a grid, thus consisting of the repetition of vertical and horizontal intersecting lines, the juxtaposition of small squares (four angles). It is therefore an object whose function but also structure is made up of its own imprisonment.

The piece is thus delimited by four boundary markers, four small evolving structures, underlined by a way of playing and a timbre different from what is heard in the other sequences (a scraping of a spoon on the lowest string). Each time they appear, these structures present a very restrictive rhythmical material which undergoes a gradual liquidation up to the arrival onto a repeated pitch, pointing out that any progress is doomed to failure.

Throughout the whole piece (except those sequences played with a spoon), the use of the Bottle Neck to modulate pitches as well as the scordatura of the instrument convey a musical material which endlessly overturns and does not find its balance any more. The systematization of this way of playing indicates a mental state gradually overwhelmed by the absence of any perspective. The situation of confinement generates a psychic imprisonment. The disappearance of the opening towards an elsewhere gives rise to the manifestation of inner micromovements which would attempt to compensate for the impossibility of a bigger mobility.

The piece thus ends with this repetition of a minimal ascending movement, a small mechanical formula which is ticking over and has abandoned all effort of release. This apparent resignation, however, is not devoid of a touch of humour, the best defence against despair.

Clara Maïda, May 2010

Gitter für Gitarre - Score - Page 14

Retour haut de page

arrow_leftRetour au catalogue

Gitter für Gitarre


Durée : 13'31.
Effectif instrumental : guitare amplifiée solo.
Date de composition : octobre 2009.

Commande : FESTIVAL INTERNATIONAL DE GUITARE DE PARIS.
Création mondiale : Caroline DELUME. Festival International de Guitare de Paris, le 27 novembre 2009.

Autres concerts : Mauricio GALEANO (ensemble Contemporary Insights), Kraftwerk (Chemnitz, DE), 10/09/2021. die naTo (Leipzig, DE), 12/09/2021. Diego CASTRO, festival Musica UC, 27/07/2021. Caroline DELUME, Festival International de Guitarra ex Corde (Guadalajara, ES), 15/07/2015. Jay SORCE, Spectrum (NYC, US), 22/09/2012. Seth JOSEL (ensemble WORK IN PROGRESS - BERLIN), PORTRAIT-CONCERT CLARA MAÏDA, Galerie Alpha Nova (Berlin, DE), 26/05/2010. PORTRAIT-CONCERT CLARA MAÏDA, Musikakademie Rheinberg,  (DE), 21/05/2010.

 

Extrait de partition
(pdf)

2009

Partition Gitter fûr Gitarre par Clara Maïda

 

[ guit ampl solo ]


Extrait

Notice de programme

Gitter für Gitarre a été composée dans la période où l’écriture de Shel(l)ter, cycle de quatre pièces pour ensemble et électronique, était en cours. Ce cycle se référait à l’un des abris antiatomiques de Berlin.
J’ai donc utilisé le même matériau musical et le même type de structure formelle que dans la deuxième pièce du cycle, Shel(l)ter - unter . . . ( ) . . . Gitter.

Le mot « Gitter » (« grille ») évoque l’atmosphère confinée, l’enfermement que l’on peut ressentir dans un tel lieu, clos, opaque et séparé du monde extérieur. Ce qui était originellement conçu pour être un abri devient aussi une prison. Tout déplacement dans l’espace se heurte à des murs et devient en quelque sorte cadré, « quadrillé » par les quatre parois infranchissables qui délimitent la superficie du bunker.
De plus, la structure d’une grille est constituée de la répétition de lignes verticales et horizontales entrecroisées, de la juxtaposition de petits carrés (quatre angles). C’est donc un objet dont non seulement la fonction mais aussi la structure comprend son propre enfermement.

La pièce est donc délimitée par quatre bornes, quatre petites structures évolutives, mises en évidence par un mode de jeu et un timbre différents de ce que l’on entend dans les autres séquences (raclement d’une cuillère sur la corde la plus grave). Ces structures présentent chaque fois qu’elles apparaissent un matériau rythmique très restrictif qui subit une liquidation progressive jusqu’à l’arrivée sur une hauteur répétée, signalant que toute avancée est vouée à l’échec.

Dans toute la pièce (hormis ces séquences jouées avec une cuillère), l’utilisation du Bottle Neck pour moduler les hauteurs, ainsi qu’une scordatura de l’instrument, donnent à entendre un matériau musical qui chavire sans cesse et ne trouve plus son équilibre. La systématisation de ce mode de jeu est l’indicateur d’un état mental qui est petit à petit envahi par l’absence de perspectives. La situation de détention génère un emprisonnement psychique. La disparition de l’ouverture vers un ailleurs provoque la manifestation de micro-mouvements intérieurs qui tenteraient de compenser l’impossibilité d’une plus grande mobilité.

La pièce se conclut donc sur cette répétition d’un mouvement ascendant minimal, sur une petite formule mécanique qui tourne à vide et a abandonné tout effort de libération. Cette résignation apparente n’est cependant pas dépourvue d’une touche d’humour, meilleure défense contre le désespoir.

Clara Maïda, mai 2010

Gitter für Gitarre - Partition - Page 14

Retour haut de page